#1000Speak

I’ve tried to think about what I should write to add my voice to the now over 1000 bloggers who are penning about compassion.

unnamed (31)source

What could possibly be left to say?

I don’t want to sound preachy, or arrogant enough to assume I know how to live. I don’t want to condemn anyone (accidentally or otherwise).  I don’t want to self-aggrandize or tell you all the great ways I’ve been compassionate in the past because to be honest, those episodes are way to few and far in between.

I believe knowing what you don’t want is just as important, if not more important, than knowing what you want.

You know what I really want? I just want to think before I act. I just want to consider the other person’s experience before I lash out, or decide to withhold action. I want to practice empathy, tolerance, mercy. I want to personify humanity in its most conscious form. I want to live mindfully, with care of how my actions affect others. I want to live without regret.

I may not succeed, but I want to practice compassion – every day.

1000-Voices-300x300 click to go read 999 more…

25 thoughts on “#1000Speak

  1. Lovely. I want the same things you do, and I love the quote by the Dalai Lama. This part sums it up for me… “I want to live mindfully, with care of how my actions affect others. ” Love that.

    Like

  2. And #1000 Speak is the awareness we can have, to think before we act, walk a mile in another’s shoes, and do unto others. And think until it becomes a natural, no think response. Loved your post.

    Like

  3. Nailed it! it’s a big step – knowing how we want to act, how we want to be. If we don’t know where we want to go, how will we ever plan the trip?

    Like

  4. That last bit.. thinking of how your actions can affect others and altering to consider them… that is the true key to compassion.

    Like

  5. Great thoughts, Ivy! Thanks for haring them.

    The word “love” is found often in the New Testament of the Bible. In today’s language, it is best translated as “compassion.”

    Like

  6. Thinking before we act can be HARD. Like the big hard, especially when caught up in the moment, late, annoyed because people can be annoying… all of it. Here’s to finding ways to practice compassion every single day. ❤ Lovely post Sweet Friend.

    Like

  7. Ooooh – I think this is what I want too – thinking before I act and remembering to consider another’s experience before lashing out. I read that and could immediately think of so many moments when I didn’t. Hard to do – but a great and compassionate goal indeed.

    Like

  8. What a fantastic goal…to practice compassion every day. I love it. Imagine if everyone made the same effort, what a different world we would live in. I hope this is a start.
    Wonderful post!

    Like

  9. To think of the other person before I act, this is one thing I have yet to do. And it seems like such a simple thing, yet it is the hardest. And all because I think somewhere all of us are a bit lost in the inconsequential details.

    A self introspection at regular intervals could be a compassionate move for others, how true. Nicely done. Simple, to the point and effective.

    Like

Leave a Reply

