A FRIENDLY REMINDER : IT’S A PRETTY COOL PRIZE!

unnamed (10)  unnamed (9)

You remember the contest, right? You remember how Doug loooooooves the contest? You remember how I seem to be the only one that really does like the contest? You remember that it’s always a bit of teeth pulling to get people to participate? I probably make them too complicated but they have to be interesting enough to hold the attention of my shrink  because he’s the judge and can get a little hypercritical and snarky with substandard challenges.

 Here we go:

You’ve heard of the 7x7x7 writing challenge?

  • I grabbed the 7th book from several bookshelves.
  • Opened them up to page 7.
  • Pinpointed the 7th sentence on the page.

Here’s where you come in:

  • Begin a piece of prose with one of the following sentences:
  1. “I can’t remember the first time I heard of him.”
  2. “But you don’t need to worry about that now; just try and see for yourself.”
  3. “I still can’t look at a toilet without feeling the urge to stick my hand down it.”
  4. “When we look deeply into such things, the blueprint for our actions can be found within the mind.”
  5. “You were thinking something disgusting, don’t lie.”
  • Your entry must be 7 sentences long
  • Your entry must be 100 words or less, NOT including the starter sentence.
  • Put your entry into the comments section below.
  • Deadline to enter is April 1, 2015

Here’s an example.

  • The starter sentence is written in red. This one comes from,  Dr. Youman’s Illustrated Marriage Guide and Confidential Medical Adviser.

“As soon as the mystery is accomplished and the flower-cup fecundated, the stalk which sustains the flower turns it up toward the sky.” She knew she was stammering as the youngest drones stared at her in wide-eyed disbelief.The Queen never considered that  explaining the ‘birds and the bees’ to her little ones would be so difficult.She always imagined ‘the talk’ going so much more smoothly than this.Yet here she sat stammering over stamens and pistils, afraid to use words like pollination. She was always the bravest, the most commanding and direct of the hive–the “bees knees” as it were. She would plow through this but she didn’t relish explaining the love of the passion-flowers.

  • It doesn’t have to be funny or serious…just creative.

The prize is an 8×10 print of one of Richard Hoebel’s Photographs.

  • Your choice of any photo on his blog.
  • Go on over there and motivate yourself. It’s a beautiful place to hang out

013.1

 

17 thoughts on “A FRIENDLY REMINDER : IT’S A PRETTY COOL PRIZE!

  1. “You were thinking of something disgusting, don’t lie.” I jumped, and no doubt flushed, because I was. I was! But that turtle! If anyone could keep his mind from roaming toward the disgusting with that turtle in view, it would be miraculous. What caused such a shocking protrusion? And why that nauseating color?

    Like

      1. Wait! Do I have enough sentences? I did seven total. But I deleted one, I think, so I could come up with something.

        Like

  2. You didn’t say if it’s 7 sentences with or without the starter sentence. Here’s my entry:

    I still can’t look at a toilet without feeling the urge to stick my hand down it. I suppose that it stems from my desire to return home. You see, I was not born from a mother the way that you were. I was created when a minor earthquake deep underground caused flushed drugs and children’s goldfish to merge as sperm and egg. I was born at midnight and emerged from below using the closest opening to this world. A toilet. I still miss it down there and want to at least wave to the place responsible for my birth. I know – you can’t go home again.

    😀 😀 😀 😀 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. “You were thinking of something disgusting, don’t lie.” I jumped, and no doubt flushed, because I was. I was! But that turtle! If anyone could keep his mind from roaming toward the disgusting with that turtle in view, it would be miraculous. What caused such a shocking protrusion? And why that nauseating color? Not to mention the smell.

    Like

  4. “I still can’t look at a toilet without feeling the urge to stick my hand down it.” Twenty-five years on a job, and twenty-five years since I left that strange place. And I still can’t turn off that instinct. It was such a lucrative job, the hunting for jewels and other treasures, after all. I had no trouble ignoring the angry screams and wailing cries as I made off with others’ hidden treasure. 70% of the profit for doing the hunting and delivery. How else could I have made this fortune so quickly?

    Like

Leave a Reply

