A to Z: Learn Something New Every Day

F

Friggatriskaidekaphobia:

The irrational fear of Friday the 13th is called friggatriskaidekaphobia. The prefix Frigga comes from the Norse goddess of love, of the same name. Her day of worship was Friday, but she was thought to be a witch by early Christians. Friday was therefore declared the Witch’s Sabbath – kind of a bad rap.

Here are a few fun facts about Friday the 13th:

  • Any month that starts on a Sunday contains a Friday the 13th.
  • There is at least one Friday the 13th in a calendar year.
  • There can be up to three Friday the 13ths in a month.
  • A month with three Friday the 13ths will start with a Thursday. The months with three of the fated days will be February, March, and November if it is NOT a leap year. (2015)
  • During a leap year starting on a Sunday (2o12) January, April, and July will have three Friday the 13ths.
  • Fourteen months is the longest period of time without a Friday the 13th occurring.

                                                      source:33705-Killers-Playing-Cards

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “A to Z: Learn Something New Every Day

  1. Score!
    And while I find your info to be quite interesting, I am most interested in there being a month that has three Friday the 13ths in it. 😉

    That is one unnecessarily long word. Who comes up with this stuff??

    Like

  2. I’ve come across quite a few long, unpronounceable medical terms in my time but this word is amzing and I’ll have to take note. It;s a fabulous word. One of my blogging friends put me onto this fabulous word: Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia is a real word, that means fear of long words.
    Looking forward to reading G.
    I’m still working on F. Was going to write about fred the front door frog but Freaking out about the future sums things up and afger today freaking out about having the kids at home for two weeks of school holidays could fit the bill.

    Like

    1. SOme of the medical stuff is my favorite but I havent seen one this long in that time!
      Hippopotomonstrosesquipedaliophobia- I discovered this one last year…. ridiculous! Someone was having a good laugh!

      Like

      1. I’ve never known about the number 13 being sacred. I consider it lucky because I had heart surgery on a Friday the 13 when I was 12 years old and after a long surgery everything went well. I used to be superstitious then but after that day I considered it lucky 😃

        Like

Leave a Reply

