A Good and Proper TToT

I haven’t done a real TToT in some time. So … off we go…

Doug… or if you’re British… My accountantunnamed (53) Doug is happy and confused most days. He is going to be 16 years old next month and yup he still tries to leave the house via the bookcase, but it has given him the really cool nickname of ‘Batman.’ e2a9511b08f401d70cc41cc9ed13c2db y’know cuz they used to leave via the bookcase??? remember… unnamed (4) Either way, dementia or not as long as he is happy and physically well he is okay with me… He continues to do this at least daily and I kind of use that as my barometer… 

unnamed (55)This is a fabulous time of the year for soooo many reasons… I am not crazy about the cold, but it’s so nice to have a crisp feel in the air… and its pumpkin season which I love!  It’s also leaf changing season which is soooo  wonderful to witness. especially when you l live in a place just made for leaf peeping.                                                 unnamed (57)

I also just love the opportunity to use a camera. I have to admit I haven’t used mine in some time. I tend to use my phone … it’s so convenient. It takes a great shot so why worry right?

unnamed (58) I also started working in the new practice this week. It’s only once a week. I am sooo grateful to my friend who is sharing his office with me. It’s a fabulous place and I’m hoping things pick up quickly… so far, so good. unnamed (56) another huge plus to this time of year for me is that I get to see this little guy a little more often in the local shops and coffee haunts… he is the town cat and tends to like his feral little life. Rumor has it he is about 17 years old and lost his tail quite a few years ago in some sort of scuffle. He is a doll and likes to warm up in cold weather. He spends most of his evenings in the local hardware store so no one worries about him freezing other parts of himself off in the winter…unnamed (54) He is very personable and loves a good scritching.

I also have a confession that I have made many a time on previous blogs… I love a stupid, B movie, and tis the season… what more can you ask for if you’re laid up? Good books, and really bad movies… So far I have seen ‘The Creeping Terror’ in which this glorified houseplant comes from another world to eat the locals, ‘House on Haunted Hill,” a classic with Vincent Price and skeletons on strings, the original ‘Little Shop of Horrors,’ with a young Jack Nicholson as a sadistic dentist and last night was my personal two favorites… ‘Santa Claus Conquers the Martians’ and ‘The Wolfman.’ the-wolf-man-lon-chaney-jr-evelyn-ankers-1941 I know that sounds like a lot of movies, but I do other things while they are on… and I am still laid up.  On that note. I am grateful my health was good enough that when I sustained this recent injury that seems to have effed up my system a bit , that I could tolerate it and the time to see if it will heal before doing something more drastic. Had enough of drastic and welcome a bit of “let’s wait and see what happens.” 023 I’m always grateful for real life buddies… these are just two… but I have to say I am soo fortunate. Yesterday’s make-shift TToT was a poem written by a friend and it was so sweet to think someone can view me that way (no matter how inaccurate that view may be!) I also am fortunate to meet new people on a regular basis… sometimes I find it difficult, but if I were smart I would recognize it for what it is which is some real luck… I have recently made the acquaintance of a local couple who own a specialty bakery … they have an amazing place… I brought them some grapes from our first years of picking and they made some grape juice which I made into jelly … yesterday I got some pumpkin spice marshmallows from them… they make all these different flavors… I have a thing for marshmallows even though I really can’t eat them right now, I am putting them away for another day.

My niece and her husband had their baby two weeks ago… she is lovely and cheeky and looks just like her mom did when she was a baby. Absolutely pinchable. I’m sure there are more but I’m wearing thin ( I wish that were a literal phrase!) … so talk to you later… but first… the cue of the week for SIX SENTENCE STORIES!

HEY IF YOU HAVEN’T DONE SSS REMEMBER THE WINDOW IS OPEN THURSDAYS TO TUESDAYS SO THERE’S PLENTY OF TIME ! WE SEEM TO BE DWINDLING IN NUMBERS AND MAN SOME OF THE STORIES ARE REALLY FAB! SO EVEN IF YOU JUST GET TO READ…. MAKE SURE TO CHECK IN AND ENJOY!

unnamed (11)THIS WEEKS CUE IS ENTRANCE! OR IS IT ENTRANCE???? HMMMMM???? I WILL LEAVE YOU WITH THE GIRLS MAKING THEIR ENTRANCE OR EXIT AS IT WERE!

 

HAVE A GREAT WEEK!

26 thoughts on “A Good and Proper TToT

  1. I love that you wrote two this week. Hoping healing, unsticking and Autumnal blessings are yours. The new baby surely is a family blessing. Do you think your accountant would mind negotiating with the IRS for me?

    Like

  2. once again, Doug provides (us) with a clear example of how to live life properly, he is running and he is enjoying running. Nice

    (Little Shop of Horrors!!! one of my top 10 movies of all time…. Society of Silent Plant Watchers…. the sign (seriously, the attention to detail in this ‘B’ movie the sign that says, “20% off from all Flowers”… lol Gravis Mushnick and Audrey Fulquad just doesn’t get better than this)

    Like

  3. Doug the Chicken Herding Dog! Love it! And I love watching him run. What an idyllic spot for a dog. (and humans!)
    Excellent TToT ivy – filled with love and hope and expectation…yeah. Nice:)
    B movies! Pity those who never knew these as a child, let alone adult lol
    Congrats on finally getting into the new workplace digs. One shall turn to two and so on and so on. Office looks cozy, btw.

    P.S. For having dementia, Doug sure knows how to work the room 🙂 He is exhibiting excellent control and balance on that couch. Makes me smile.

    Like

  4. If you’re going to have some new friends, might as well be friends who run a bakery.
    🙂
    Love that cat who belongs to the town. Glad to hear Batman is doing well, or as well as to be expected, at sixteen.
    🙂
    Looking forward to some good Halloween movies in the next few weeks myself.Best way to get into the mood.

    Like

  5. When I’m feeling bad or even just down, I escape in junky books. Cheap romance or even a good zombie apocalypse novel let’s me shut down noise and worries in my head and take a breather.

    Like

  6. Have you watched Troll 2? If you love B movies, you’ve got to watch it! My college kids introduced me to it a few years ago, and it is absolutely awful! It’s not a sequel, and it’s not about trolls, and that’s just the tip of the campy iceberg.

    Like

  7. I always love chicken videos! Especially when they include Doug.
    When you talk about Doug trying to exit through the bookcase, I think of Young Frankenstein. “Put. The candle. Back.”
    I will get back to Six Sentence Story! I will! I lost my mojo for awhile, but I’ll find it!
    The office space is gorgeous!

    Like

  8. Ohhhh I love the vid of your accountant running 🙂 He looks joyous. And I’m with you on marshmallows being one of life’s great pleasures, and something I now forgo (though I hear there are veggie ones, but honestly, who has time?), so I hope you get to enjoy them soon.

    Fingers crossed that the waiting and seeing is the best thing to do, and that it renders the drastic totally unnecessary. And if you’re gonna be laid up then it sounds very much like you’re making the best use of your time 🙂

    Like

  9. I’m glad you cleared up the “accountant” reference–I was SO confused! My friend has chickens, and she calls them “the girls” too–so funny! Thanks for the new cue–as always, I’m jazzed to write a story!!! Hope today is a good one, prayers for you always– xxoo, J

    Like

  10. Seeing Doug and the girls run is enough to brighten anyone’s day. I just love the expression “leaf peeping.” I’d never heard that expression until one of our children moved to New England. Pumpkin spice marshmallows sound yummy, and I know they taste nothing like the marshmallows in a bag from the store. Hope you have a wonderful week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

