IT’S SIX SENTENCE STORIES … THE CUE IS RANGE

160499805961source

My mother likes to include a baked good with her holiday gifts. She doesn’t know this, but let’s just say she has never been rumored to be a wonderful cook. Ironically, she prides herself on her cooking. When something doesn’t work out, she says she has a wonky oven that cooks somewhat unevenly. The truth is, it does cook unevenly, however it also doesn’t seem to phase her that the center of things may be a bit loose. I tend to do her holiday baking for her because, what are the odds after at least fifty years someone fixed that oven?

unnamed (11)

27 thoughts on “IT’S SIX SENTENCE STORIES … THE CUE IS RANGE

  1. A new oven and range are fine as the learning process is mutual however moving into an old house with history the cooking range is boss and will cook in its way not yours!

    Like

    1. Hey! You won the three sentence contest! Thanks for the entries… I was particularly fond of the marshmallow one… But im not the judge! If you emsil me your address i can send your book!

      Like

  2. I had a wonky oven before we finally replaced it. Only 20 years old, though. I’m thinking about baking today, in fact. Your oatmeal jam bars are definitely high on m list.

    Like

    1. gotta love those… they could be raw and still be good… loved your story today! Hows the book coming along? I suspect if its anything like me and my queries this is just too busy a time and its gotta wait a week or two.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I actually wrote one sentence today but I know the direction I’m going next so I feel good about it. I overcooked the oatmeal bars but the are still good

        Liked by 1 person

    1. You know, I just worry as she gets older and is so exhausted by stuff like this…she has such huge expectations that she will bake all day producing 26 to 35 cakes etc… crazy… so its easier than worrying about her dropping because she is too tired.

      Like

  3. What a great story! I’d love to blame my oven for “experiments”–like yesterday’s crust-less pecan pie–that don’t go quite as I’d hoped… 🙂 How are you and Doug doing?

    Like

      1. Ohhh, bless his heart–so interesting that they use neurontin for both people and dog-accountants! Cocky is definitely GOOD! I continue my prayers for both of you each night–and send lots of Love 🙂

        Like

    1. I think I use the oven as an excuse as well … she is just getting too old to do everything the way she would like which is at high extremes…. so its easier on my level of worry to do this while feigning that I actually believe its the oven’s fault! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    2. I think I use the oven as an excuse as well … she is just getting too old to do everything the way she would like which is at high extremes…. so its easier on my level of worry to do this while feigning that I actually believe its the oven’s fault! 🙂 This way she gets to accept help and save face which seems to be important to her.

      Like

  4. I remember a rental house with an oven that didn’t bake properly and how I struggled to get the landlord to finally repair it. I am pretty picky about my baked goods, and would be totally embarrassed if my cake was soggy in the middle or dry as cardboard. I think you are an angel for helping your mother with her Christmas baking, I have no doubt she gets rave reviews on your treats!!

    Like

  5. I don’t think I’ve ever had an oven – or a Crock Pot come to think of it – that didn’t have a little something off about it. I love your story and the picture of a stove reminds me of a little cast iron stove that a relative had and I used to love to play with.

    Like

Leave a Reply

