SIX SENTENCE STORY CUE OF THE WEEK!

affbe0c4-32ba-4b40-b124-a36fdf2cebab

SORRY I FORGOT!

No water, no heat , -18 degrees… but before you feel bad… I just flushed the toilet and I’m not excited because of regularity… the water is back and spitting out the faucets…. so therefore I can make a bit of time for the important stuff…

THIS WEEK’S CUE IS:

FRAY

*(of a fabric, rope, or cord) unravel or become worn at the edge, typically through constant rubbing

*(of a person’s nerves or temper) show the effects of strain

*(of a male deer) rub (a bush or small tree) with the head in order to remove the velvet from newly formed antlers, or to mark territory during the rut

*a fight or disagreement

*a situation of intense activity, typically one incorporating an element of aggression or competition

 

You recall the rules: six sentences no more, no less, any genre, come back on Thursday and use the cue… hop around then…

Thank you Mrs. Two Shoes!

 

23 thoughts on “SIX SENTENCE STORY CUE OF THE WEEK!

  1. Oh, I was wondering how you were! So sorry you had to play pioneer. Sounds like you’ve got a great start on the next TToT: running water, indoor plumbing, heat. . .

    Like

    1. I was not born in the wrong era… I would have been among the dead in any pioneering situation…mostly because someone would have most likely had to shoot me to keep me from whining so much…

      Like

  2. It was -20 at our house. But we had heat and running water. Once we were without power for three days. I was melting snow off the roof so l could flush. I felt very pioneerish. I’m glad things are better now, at least in some areas.

    Like

      1. I have written a couple entries that you never saw. They were dark and disturbing. I was sure you would think I needed a therapist. I sure I will be in a better lace when it gets a little warmer.

        Like

  3. Oy vey – no water no heat – had no idea! Glad things are back to working now. We lost power and heat two years in a row for several days – like 5+ – during Hurricane Sandy and the year before. First world problems, I know, but it was miserable.

    OK, I have a joke.
    A rope walks into a bar and the bartender refuses to serve him a drink. The rope leaves dejected. The next day, the rope comes back, but the bartender still won’t serve him a drink. The rope again leaves dejected.
    The rope returns a third day, but before entering the bar, he stops outside, twists his head and ruffles his hair a bit. When he walks in the bartender asks, “Hey, aren’t you the same rope that’s been coming in here for a few days asking for a drink?”
    “No,” says the rope. “I’m a frayed knot.”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hey! First Rule of plumbing (from growing up on the Vineyard), threat of power loss…fill that bathtub! Hell, I still do that and we have a generator sitting in the garage.
    Good to hear that things are back (into) the 21st Century living standards-wise! man! to think that our forefathers and foremothers, no plumbing and no electricity, like, all the time! sure must of cut down the TV-watching!

    Like

    1. I know how could they possibly have spent their time without TV????

      we thought we conquered the frozen water problem last year with increasing the insulation only to find that the snow on the ground (last year) had been insulating a lot more than we thought.

      Like

Leave a Reply

