A Random Post!? But I thought this was a stricly SSS-ONLY blog!

Contrary to popular belief (and appearance), this blog is not just for SSS  or even TToT (although I haven’t gotten there in a couple of weeks either…)

Ive been under the weather and with the holidays and the nature of illness and immobility, I just haven’t gotten to blogging…. NOW if…and only if….I were to entertain the idea of honesty, I would point out the obvious…a.) This blogginng wall has been up a heck of a lot longer than the three weeks Ive been down for the count and 2.) (Shoutout to Clark there) there are days Im bored to tears but…. Why would I write and risk less frustration and angst? I mean, why would I wanna get rid of those ? They’ve stuck with me through this whole thing…why would I turn on them now??? PAHHHHH…BLOGGING….what could I have been thinking?

Well, it’s 4:02 a.m. I just took an an antiinflammatory and it is already slowing my head down….so fasten your seatbelts and return your trays to the upright position….here we go.

A few weeks ago I had a conversation with a friend who has what sound like incredibly vivid dreams…. Im a bit jealous because I used to dream like that but now , I can barely recall if I dreamed or not, and thats been about a year or more. I decided to meditate about sleep and dreaming to see if it would change at all. I have had two dreams that I can recall since starting this… Last night I dreamed I was home sick, but my mother wanted me to paint the upstairs hallway (I don’t think we ever had an upstairs….never mind a hallway)… I woke up when I opened the cans of paint (because of course they were florescent orange and magenta …oh and did I mention that I was expected to use a toothbrush because she wanted me to try some new faux technique?)

How was your holiday? I have a running sort of joke about the big three winter holidays… If Im gonna be missing something in the year, it will most likely be at least one, if not the entire trifecta of Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year. One year I went into the hospital on November 17th and discharged January 2nd. Oddly, the hospital isn’t as bad as you’d imagine especially if you have a fairly dysfunctional family or group with which you regularly spend the holidays. This year the plan had been for the eve to be with sibs and family and Christmas day quietly opening a few gifts with Mom. I didn’t get to do that this year but that’s cool. I like quiet and I am not much of a material girl, so I can wait. Last year I had handed out everyone’s gifts and forgot my own. I found them in the trunk of my car sometime in February….luckily only one pack of moldy cookies!!! Mom and I will be celebrating Christmas in a few weeks. She spent the actual holiday with my sibs and their families. She had a really nice holiday which makes me happy.

As usual when Im not at my best, I have turned to B movies. So far “It Came From Outer Space,” and “The Colossus of New York,” have been totally ridiculous films during which I may have fallen asleep,  or thoroughly enjoyed….i can’t remember.

Ok. Enough rambling… I feel more sleep coming on… Wouldn’t want to start saying REALLY stupid stuff….

Talk soon…IMG_20161225_121207839.jpg

9 thoughts on “A Random Post!? But I thought this was a stricly SSS-ONLY blog!

  1. I enjoyed this–not the part about you being sick and in pain, but your lively sense of humor and intrepid spirit, as those are things we share in common. We really ought to have T-shirts…maybe you could do the faux toothbrush technique in magenta (skip the horrid orange). I will need an XXX-Large 🙂

    Like

  2. It was fun to come and read this, your candor always makes me smile. Somehow the worst of circumstances becomes just another road bump in life and helps me learn to approach things in similar manner. I am grateful you’ve been able to take the downtime you need and hope this will soon find you feeling a bit more energetic and ready to tackle new adventures in the months ahead. I am also grateful that little caped crusader above has decided she can be a mellow kid when Mom needs her to chill. We’ve survived another year, Kid, and that’s always a good thing!

    Like

  3. Interesting stuff about the dreams. I wonder if I could meditate about remembering dreams and have an orange and magenta one? I think those movies might work in the opposite, though. Scary creatures who eat cities, and all that. Do you remember that song, “The Eggplant that Ate Chicago?” – Oh you better watch out for the eggplant that ate Chicago or he might eat your city, too are the only words I remember. Happy New Year.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dreams fascinate me. I dream vividly and often. I had a recurring dream for decades! DECADES! When I finally realized where the image in the dream came from, it went away. I even posted about this one.

    I love your site, your ToTT, and your SSS idea has been THE best thing to happen to my “writing” in, well, forever.

    Hope you are in tip top shape for the new year.

    If I get a T-shirt, it should be blue. Dark blue, please.

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  5. I used to have vivid, detailed dreams until I had my surgery, and now – pffft! I dream, but I can’t remember hardly more than a snippet every once in awhile, and that disturbs me. I LOVED having vivid dreams!

    Get well. Stay well.

    Like

Leave a Reply

